Countywide Polling Approved by State

Throckmorton County has been approved by the Secretary of State’s Office for the use of Countywide Polling Places as per Section 43.007 of the Texas Election Code. According to Eva Duke, the county Elections Administrator and Voter Registrar, instead of having to vote in their home precinct, a registered voter will be able to vote at any Vote Center in the County. Vote Centers will be implemented in two phases. In phase one, which will be in effect for the November 8, 2016, General Election, four Vote Centers will be available to registered voters of Throckmorton County, one in Woodson, one in Elbert and two in Throckmorton.

In 2017, we will go to phase 2 of the transition, which will bring the county down to three permanent Vote Centers for each election thereafter, with one vote center being in each town in the county. The use of Vote Centers should make election day easier for voters and election workers alike, and save the county money. And even though voters from different precincts will be voting at the same Vote Centers, precinct totals and turnouts as well as precinct specific elections such as commissioner’s races will still be kept separate by the voting machines. 

And, just as a reminder, the deadline to register to vote for the upcoming November 8, 2016 General Election is October 11th  and the deadline to apply for an absentee ballot by mail is Oct. 28th. To be qualified for a ballot by mail a registered voter must be either 65 years old or older, disabled, or expected to be absent  from the county during early voting and on election day. Contact Eva Duke at her office at 940-849-8825 to receive either application, or go online to



Write a comment

Comments: 1
  • #1

    Garnet Packard (Friday, 03 February 2017 16:57)

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this write-up plus the rest of the website is also really good.